what amp wire ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what amp wire ?

Ok my surfs cigarette lighter is broke , so ia m going to fit 3 new ones with 15 amp in line fuses found this info on the site and wire them direct to the BATTERY positive terminal ,so i have 2 batterys what one do i choose and what voltage wire do i need ? And i take it i have to wire the second wire to the earth of the truck where do i do that, I take it there is only 2 wires on the back of cigareete sockets? If not what should i do.

forgot to say im a complete noob at this so in easy idiot proof steps if you can. Oh i also have all the bottom off my dash stipped down and sitting in the boot of my truck

A good place to start and a very good description.

http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2207

15amp cigaretter lighters should be cabled to take 30amps, but fused at 15amps.
    The fuse is there to take the risk (cheapest component).

Earth to the body. Positive direct from the +ve terminal on the passenger side battery. Bear in mind that unless you have a split charge system, both batteries will be in parallel, so makes no major odds.

Best option, in my humble opinion is to wire them as if they were aux spot lights.
    IE: only come on when the ignition is on, so you don't leave things to drain the battery.

Comment

[QUOTE=caaw]Ok my surfs cigarette lighter is broke , so ia m going to fit 3 new ones with 15 amp in line fuses found this info on the site and wire them direct to the BATTERY positive terminal ,so i have 2 batterys what one do i choose and what voltage wire do i need ? And i take it i have to wire the second wire to the earth of the truck where do i do that, I take it there is only 2 wires on the back of cigareete sockets? If not what should i do.