Kill switch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kill switch

Looking to wire in an anti theft kill switch, though not sure of the best method.

I figured going off the starter rather than the fuel pump, to eliminate the chance of the truck randomly losing fuel when driving, or worse the engine switching off.

I'm not an electrics expert by any stretch, but figured this would probably be something I could have a go at. Has anyone with more electrical knowledge than me done this before, and could give any pointers to consider, or dangers to avoid?

Thanks
    Owen

Originally posted by pyemaster View Post
    Looking to wire in an anti theft kill switch, though not sure of the best method.

I figured going off the starter rather than the fuel pump, to eliminate the chance of the truck randomly losing fuel when driving, or worse the engine switching off.

I'm not an electrics expert by any stretch, but figured this would probably be something I could have a go at. Has anyone with more electrical knowledge than me done this before, and could give any pointers to consider, or dangers to avoid?

Thanks
    Owen
    Good idea Owen but i have one question, why do you wanna wait till there half way down your road before the kill switch kills whatever it will kill? would prevention in the first place not be better? i.e. an alarm

Cheers
    Alex
    Yes it's a V8, don't you know I'm loco?

Comment

Hi Alex, yeah the idea is that they wouldn't be able to do that at all. If I could get the starter isolated then they shouldn't be able to get it going without working out where the switch is.

Also I do have an alarm (bloody loud one too), but how many people pay attention these days to alarms!

Owen

Comment