all dash lights on

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• all dash lights on

ayup. just a bit of advice needed. went out yesterday and all dash lights came on. was on forestry tracks and weather very wet. had to drive 7 miles home. got back fine with no loss of power.
    had a good look here with help of search button. also looked at ausy forum. every thing points to alternater
    one sujestion was to disconect battery and see if truck stalled.
    did this and truck still ran?
    any ideas. im no mechanic and dont have a halfrauds or anything similar on the doorstep.
    if it is battery is it best to change both or will i get away with one new one bearing in mind im on the bones of my bum.

Sounds like the alternator. When mine started to go on my old surf the first sign was the dash lit up like a xmas tree whilst driving along the road. The lights went off again but it was the start of it failing.

Comment

Start the engine and let it idle, switch on the headlights, heater blower, (full power) A/C if you have it and the rear demister. Then rev the engine and notice if the headlights get brighter. If they do then the alternator is working.
      If they don't, then it's the battery/ies.
      If you have one duff battery, it will drain the other one, so you need to seperate them to check which one is bad.

Do you have a multi-meter?

Comment

thanks for the advice mr bw. will try your advice early tomorrow morning in the dark. not goin out now as its hailin and blowin 50mph
        yep ive a little multimeter but no idea what to do with it.
        this is not a big panic as my transit gets me to work but still would like to fix the truck as i realy like it and what a handy backup and tool

am pleased a king was found in the midlands. dont think he needs a horse

Comment

If you rev the engine and your alternator is OK, the lights will get brighter whether the batteries are knackered or not.

Here's a better way of checking alt / batts...