Continental Cross Contour

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Continental Cross Contour

I have the above 275/70 R16 tyres fitted on the Surf and they are fairly new with loads of tread. They seem to have a disappointing grip. Even on dry roads when pulling off, they wheel spin. If pulling the caravan off wet grass, it goes into wheel spin mode even when gently touching the accelerator.
    Recently with all the rain etc, they seem even worse and sometimes I think the back end is going to break away. I am a sedate driver and not a boy racer unless I am using the Fiesta.
    Wife does not like driving the Surf with these tyres on. On our previous Surf we had Bridgestone Duellers AT which offered excellent grip.
    Does any one else have the above Continental tyres and suffer the same issue? Thinking of changing them for either BFGs AT, General Grabbers AT or Bridgestone duellers AT. Most driving is on tarmac.

I didn't like the GG AT-2s on mine, they were probably great in mud, and they were good in fresh snow, but they were a liability in the wet on tarmac. I don't go mad, but if you had to brake reasonably hard (not emergency-stop scenarios), the car would skid forward for a bit.

I swapped them for thse: http://www.camskill.co.uk/m101b0s152...70R16_112H_TL_

They are very good in the wet in comparison with the GGs. No probs whatsoever. They are far easier to balance as they aren't offroad shaped, so I can sit at decent speed on the M1 without worrying about the shakes, and they have been great in the snow and ice this week.
    Surf if you got a wave. Wave if you got a Surf.™

Comment

Originally posted by J i m s t e r View Post
      I didn't like the GG AT-2s on mine, they were probably great in mud, and they were good in fresh snow, but they were a liability in the wet on tarmac. I don't go mad, but if you had to brake reasonably hard (not emergency-stop scenarios), the car would skid forward for a bit.