Newbie alert

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie alert

Just bought a Hilux Surf diesel 3 litre on an R plate 1997 anyone tell me if it is second or third gen? I have a vibration on the steering wheel over 60mph was wondering if it is the tyres? they are marshalls at the front and two different ones at the back one is a bridgestone should i get another bridgstone for the rear to match? bear with me im a chick! xx

Originally posted by Rachy View Post
    Just bought a Hilux Surf diesel 3 litre on an R plate 1997 anyone tell me if it is second or third gen? I have a vibration on the steering wheel over 60mph was wondering if it is the tyres? they are marshalls at the front and two different ones at the back one is a bridgestone should i get another bridgstone for the rear to match? bear with me im a chick! xx
    Hi Welcome, yours should be a third generation surf judging by the year, as for the fault some one will be along to give you some ideas. I am new to surfs myself!
    l'm FAME-ous!

Comment

Hi and welcome Rachy, as a general rule it's never to good to have a mix and match of tyres but having said that it depends on what your using it for (on or off road), with regards to the vibration, are the front tyres wearing evenly (tracking etc), also check the wheel bearings (jack the truck up and try and wobble the wheel top to bottom, left to right, just see if there is a lot of play there, there shouldn't be).
      These are just a couple of quick and easy checks you can do to help diagnose it, there'll be some more ideas thrown in shortly no doubt.
      Neal

Comment

I'm guessing that the tyres its on are the ones it was imported on. Bridgestone aren't a common choice in the UK. If so, and the truck has been stood for a while in Japan / here, the tyres could be fooked anyway. Get them checked by your favorite tyre fitter place. They can check the balance of them too, which is the most likely reason for vibration over 60mph.