Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting Problems

Hello from East Yorkshire

First time on the forum and new to Surf ownership, albeit a non runner.
    Im no motor mechanic but can pretty much get my head around most things mechanical but more used to petrol engines than diesel and could do with some direction with a starting problem.

The vehicle is an L reg Surf SSR X 3L

Engine turns but doesn’t fire. Guy I bought it off suspected the fuel pump and was so convinced he bought a replacement pump. He just didn’t have the will to replace it.
    Anyhow, I have checked that im getting fuel to the pump via the filter/priming pump. I then disconnected two of the easiest to get to fuel supply lines to the injectors and got no fuel.
    My simple logic tells me that its got to be the fuel pump but I did wonder if it could be one or more of the solenoids? I have checked the feeds to the solenoids and im getting power but only very small voltages and I have no idea if these voltages are correct to drive the solenoids. I can hear the main solenoid pulling in on moving the key to pre ignition so that seems OK but before I remove the pump I wondered if I can eliminate the solenoids?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in anticipations

Ian

Hi and welcome, sorry for the delay in approving your first post but we have had a few problems with the forum.
    I'm a custard donut monster

Comment

welcome yorkshire dude
      am not die lex sick its you that cant read mate

Comment

If your getting around 5v to the back of the pump it sounds correct. If your not getting fuel up...hmmm. You could perform a diagnostic. Do a search for fault codes. Good luck.
        Non intercooled nothing.

Comment

Could be the wee pump filter choked?

Does the truck have an aftermarket immobiliser?
          Do you know that, with a 50 character limit, it's

Comment

ismiff

Doesnt have an immobaliser fitted.
            Have changed the fuel filter.