2.4lt vs 3.0lt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2.4lt vs 3.0lt

just wanted to know how the 2.4's stacked up against the 3.0's.
    im aware that the heads are prone to crack on the 2.4's but is that about the only major concern with them? im assuming the rest of the truck is mechanically sound like the 3.0's and as a toyota should be.
    do they share most of their parts? suspension, anchillaries etc etc?

reason i ask is becasue i was thinking of buying a Gen 2 twin cab pick up 2.4lt and i was thinking of putting a 3.0lt engine in it.
    or is it so different under the bonnet that its not just a straight swap?

i dont want to buy the twin cab and do it up only for the head to crack. rather just do the engine swap for peace of mind and power.

undoubtedly your going to get a very one sided set of answers I think....

For the most part one this forum, everyone I believe is going to recommend a 3.0 over a 2.4ltr

As for fitment, I have had no experience with these engines or twin cabs for that matter to even begin to think how hard or easy they are to fit
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success

Comment

I think the anchovies are the same. The 3.0 are better cos we have bigger d1cks, and we dont overheat so much.
      Cutting steps in the roof of the world

Comment

Originally posted by Apache View Post
        I think the anchovies are the same. The 3.0 are better cos we have bigger d1cks, and we dont overheat so much.
        i naturally came to this conclusion aswell.

however it would be nice for a factual reply in regards to both trucks reliablity and how they compare mechanically and not .............erm........engine illy ?

so no #### heads please!

Comment

2.4's get cracked heads, 3.0's get cracked heads. If you want a 3.0L in there, stop looking for excuses to give the wife and just do the swap. You'll need all of the loom, the ECU etc from the 3.0L though if you do swap.