head rebuilt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• head rebuilt

Had the head on jokers old truckpressure tested and come back ok.There were 5 bent valves so had then renewed,had it re shimmed and skimmed and valve seats cut and degreased and decarbed all for £265.66 so i have a near new head to go back on the other 3.0l i bought.
    I got no.2 and 3 valves down and the timing marks lined up and no.2 and 3 pistons down ready for refitting the head. The mechanic who stripped the old head off has marked the fuel pump which i gather is when he took the t.belt off,can i leave that on those marks or has it got to be reset to the proper marks.I have got a new set of belts to go on so i'm hoping to get it all running over the weekend but i am worried as i have never done the timing before on a motor and not sure if the marks are correct or not.
    Also the mechanic hasn't put all the bolts in the truck so i'm having to find some from the breaker and also he hasn't put in one of the sensors that bolt to the head and has a brown plug to it and vac pipes that go to the egr i think.So if anyone has one of these sensors for a 3.0l can you let me know please.
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/henpals/

Just reset it all to the proper timing marks, its far safer and eaiser.

I recently had a 3.0 head checked, that was showing signs of knackered head, but no cracks in the normal places. Had it tested and it was cracked internally by valve guide. Good job I didn't just put it back assuming it was just the gasket!
    4x4toys.co.uk - Keeping you on and off the road...

Comment