X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fuel Pump leak

Hi Guys,

A bit of adivce needed please.

I recently noticed that my truck (1992 SSR-G, 2.4l) was leaving small puddles of veg/diesel mix when left parked up - a very slow leak as only noticed it whe I happened to leave it overnight on a clean surface.

Took it to the garage today and it is a slow leak from the fuel pump, although they couldn't say exactly what was causing it.

Now, is the fuel pump easily serviceable i.e. replacing seals or is it more likely to need replacing. I was advised to stop at Lucas's to pick up a kit, but they seemed either unable or unwilling to be of assistance - saying that if the pump is stripped down it would need recalibrating as it is electronically controlled.

Now I am no mechanic so I really am not sure what is right here - hopefully one of you guys with more experience can offer some advice?

Many thanks in advance.

Dale
    Last edited by rockdrill; 7 February 2008, 14:23.

if you do a search you'll get loads of advice but:

You can get seal kits from Milners or me as i have a set I didnt use.
    If you are lucky it will be either the top plate or one of the side plates or the soleniod thats leaking. All with the exception of one sideplate that faces the engine can be repaired with the pump in stitu.

If its the leaking from the distribution block on the back then its pump out and away.

Various tricks you can try transmission fluid etc to get the seals to swell again after the veg oil shrinks them but they only put off the enevitable.

Mine has never seen veg and was leaking from 3 places big job getting it out so sent it off to be resealed by Diesel Bob. If you are going to use veg then he will fit the appropriate seals etc.

Diesel bob tuning 01254 878790

http://www.dieselbob.co.uk

Done mine for £228+ vat I fitted/removed it myself but would suggest you need to be fairly competent mechanic or as I am engineer.

Steve
    Should have bought a 3ltr

Comment

Steve,