Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Off Road Driving

Hey
    Im completely new to the off road thing...
    I have a 2.4td surf ssr-g which was imported '93
    Im guessing although the tires say 4x4 (They are quality fulda ;-) ) they are not really idea for off road use... more road tires I guess....
    Can I get away with these tires on some off road tracks etc...? Is it mostly gonna depend on the weather, i/e worse if its real wet and sludgy..
    I live in the south west and hit dartmoor over the Crimbo period where I had some great fun on tank tracks up on a army training section of dartmoor. I did not manage a bit of grass off roading tho.. I tried to go up a fairly steep grassy / peaty slope and just span the wheels in 4x4 mode, low ratio etc..etc... but I put that down to the tires... agree?
    Also, how deep can I dip the surf in river? What should i be worried about when going through river crossings etc...I have had the bottom waxoyled which I was told should sort out it rusting..?
    If anyone on here is from the south west, let me know...
    As I say I'm a complete novice so any thoughts on the above in whatever manner would be much appreciated...
    2 Tone Mud Master!
    http://www.sunsetsurf.co.uk

Originally posted by carbonman
    Hey
    Im guessing although the tires say 4x4 (They are quality fulda ;-) ) they are not really idea for off road use... more road tires I guess....
    Can I get away with these tires on some off road tracks etc...? Is it mostly gonna depend on the weather, i/e worse if its real wet and sludgy..
    I live in the south west and hit dartmoor over the Crimbo period where I had some great fun on tank tracks up on a army training section of dartmoor. I did not manage a bit of grass off roading tho.. I tried to go up a fairly steep grassy / peaty slope and just span the wheels in 4x4 mode, low ratio etc..etc... but I put that down to the tires... agree?