bad news for 4x4's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bad news for 4x4's

As many of you know what I do for a living (magazine editor) then you’ll appreciate I have certain ‘sources’ in the government and there’s bad news coming for all 4x4 owners.

The do-gooders pressure has paid off and there is currently a bill being drawn up to increase the road tax on all cars over 1.5 tonnes that can be proved to be doing less than 24 miles to the gallon.

Obviously this is going to affect our lot more than any other due to the weight restrictions.

I’m going to be organising a petition to either increase the weight limit or the mpg. I need names of people who will be interested in helping collect and deliver the petitions to downing street.

Expect this news to be in the next 4x4 magazines that are printed and published after today.

Dave

bugger...
    Real trucks don't have spark plugs

Comment

Or April fool?
      Don't see they can test mpg. too many variables.

Comment

Government don't do jokes mate - this is same sources who warned me about the handgun ban and other 'anti' legislation - this is kosher
        Dave

Comment

they got to get elected first...
          it's in me shed, mate.

Comment

Originally posted by Draig
            Government don't do jokes mate - this is same sources who warned me about the handgun ban and other 'anti' legislation - this is kosher
            I just checked with our research analyst on the Automative industry, he's heard the same thing and the sales guys are concerned about the effect on the UK motor industry (as Land Rover is obciously going to be affected quite severely if people change their buying habits), Naturally anything that has an adverse affect on the UK market is going to be bad for share prices, and the traders are already panicking about another bad year (for bonuses)

Good job the Bullet does 25 MPG!!

Looks like it really is
            Linda

www.4x4toys.co.uk

Comment